Editorial Services-Sensitivity Reads 

What is sensitivity reading?

This is when you hire a reader to read specific scenes (or the whole manuscript) who pick up on small micro-aggressions or problematic plot aspects in your novel. They can inform you on how your representation is compared to their experience, and it’s a very important part in the conversation about non-harmful, good representation diverse literature.

Why should you hire me?

I’ve read hundreds of young adult novels critically, in which I’ve seen one of my many identities represented. I’ve written hundreds of reviews for published and unpublished works of writing. I’m also a teenager with firsthand experience of what’s it’s like to be one. I will give you detailed in-depth notes about the identities represented in your stories.

What can I sensitivity read for?:

-aromantic spectrum

-asexual spectrum

-nonbinary/trans rep

-childhood abuse/trauma

-sexual harassment

-chronic illness

-depression/anxiety rep

-realistic teenagers

-bilingual (english as second language)

-Christian rep

The Pricing: 

For a full manuscript between 50,000k and 100,000k words it will be $200. If your manuscript is above 100k, the price will also go up depending. For PoC/WoC authors I will give a 25% discount off and students will get a 20% off (proof required) For specific scenes it will be $25. For anything shorter than that I will negotiate with you in the email exchange. There will be no refunds.

What genres will I accept?

In general I will accept middle grade, young adult, or new adult.

Favorite genres: 

-contemporary

-fantasy

-sci-fi

-thrillers/mysteries

Things that will get a no from me: horror and erotica
Does this seem interesting to you? My contact email is: lollipopsbooksblog@gmail.com I will reply within 48 hours to your inquiry. The full page report will be provided within 3 weeks of time.

One thought on “Editorial Services-Sensitivity Reads ”

Leave a comment