Bruja Born-Review!

Bruja Born (Brooklyn Brujas #2)Bruja Born by Zoraida Córdova

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


“One, we’re brujas. Witches. Magical BAMFS with powers gifted by the Deos, our gods. A house full of magic is bound to cause some friction, and after what Alex did, there is plenty of friction.”

TW: Blood, violence, death, serious injury

This book was such an amazing rollercoaster ride for me. I was reading it during a very transitional period in my life, and it helped me escape into the world of Lula’s mischief and her messy world. Labyrinth Lost will always have a special place in my heart as one of those books that really made an impact, but this continuation was done in an excellent way.

One thing that I appreciated a lot was the fact that there are emotional and physical effects because of the aftermath of the Los Lagos incident. Lula struggles with her mental health and her trauma that seems to haunt her, and that’s so important to portray in YA. In the beginning of the book there’s a car crash, and a tragedy befalls on Lula’s life which is what sets this line of events down the path that it did.

I love the Mortiz family more and more, they’re all so close-knit and supportive (most of the time anyway) and here we learn more about the world and also some political intrigue between underground organizations in the NYC area. This feels like it could me made into an awesome action movie that would have twists and turns that you don’t see coming and that leave you breathless and gripping onto your rollercoaster seat.

One thing that was definitively expanded on was the human side of the magic system. There were many different supernatural things going on that were affecting the residents of NYC, and that exploration was building on what happened in the previous book. This book isn’t romance-heavy, though love is a big motivation for the actions of these teens, and we also get to see a little bit of Alex and Rishi. But I do enjoy books more when they focus on the magic system/supernatural elements rather than just the romance.

All I can say is, that if you loved Labyrinth Lost this book really outdid itself. Go pick it up in stores this June!

**Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me a copy in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own**

View all my reviews

Leave a comment