Ramadan Readathon TBR

ramadan-readathon.png

For the whole month of June, I am going to be making a conscious effort in supporting and reading ownvoices book with Muslim protagonists by participating in this readathon created by Nad and Zoya . This is the first year that these lovely ladies are hosting this readathon, and I am so excited to be a part of this amazing journey. If anyone is further interesting, here is the introduction post.

starss.jpgWritten in the Stars by Aisha Saeed: Preparing for this readathon, I recently checked this out of my library and I smile everytime I see it sitting on my TBR. This is the debut novel of Saeed’s, who was one of the original founders of the #weneeddiversebooks movement over on Twitter. I recently listened to a podcast with her as a guest and she spoke so articulately about what it means to be a writer and mama, that I was in awe of her conversation. (It can be found here if anyone is interested in this highly interesting conversation.)

saints

Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali: I didn’t get a chance to read this in May, when I intended to read it for Asian Lit Bingo , however it spills into June. I’m planning to buy a physical copy to support the author, and also because my digital idea has weird formatting which is hard on my eyes. I love the title, the idea behind this and can’t wait to get started!

ember.jpg

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: This book has been on my tbr shelf for over a year, and I’ve been trying to muster up the motivation to read it (its been overhyped and I’ve personally heard mixed reviews about it.) All of my interactions with Sabaa on Twitter have been lovely, as well as I have lots of friends who are die-hard fans and the fandom is so passionate that its hard warming to see. Perfect chance to give this one a shot!

gaunt.jpg

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi: Back to when I got an ARC of this, I was so very excited to start reading. I love the premise and idea behind it, I love that it includes diverse reads, and I follow the author on Twitter and she seems delightful. It’s also rare to see middle grade fantasy which features MC that are Muslims (and it ownvoices), so I can’t wait to read this!

further.jpg

Futhermore by Taherah Mafi: This is one book that I’ve been begging my younger (middle grade) sisters to try out, because I love magic and personal journeys that the characters have to take to find something. The cover for this one (and it’s sequel) is absolute gorgeousness. I’ll be sure to go to the library to pick this up for this month.


What books would you recommend for me to read this book? Are you going to be a part of this readathon this month?

10 thoughts on “Ramadan Readathon TBR”

  1. I’m participating as well, and I’ll definitely have to add some of these books to my lineup!!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. Hey Bree! Thanks so much for popping in on my blog and looking through it 🙂 I’ve checked out your blog and it looks as if its almost more mature than anything that I have to over.

      So, you might not know that I’ve been blogging for a year and two months now (had/have a blogspot book) but now had to switch over to wordpress.

      I would say my biggest advice is to be authentic. Find your authentic writing voice within the blogging community, because noone wants to read the same version of similar discussions posts, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m in the process of writing up a wrap-up plus reviews but I can tell you that yes! I did read Written in the Stars and I’m still wrestling with my feels/opinions on it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a tough read, not so much because it was poorly written, but because it of what the character went through. At least, IMO. I thought it was really well written.

        Like

Leave a Reply

